Embracing the Power of Values

As I read some books and articles on management and personal growth, one recurring theme that captured my attention was the significance of defining one's values. This exploration led me to question my own values. Initially I just stood there blank, not knowing what my values were. Consequently, I've decided to document them here as a constant reminder of the principles that guide my life. It's important to note that values can change over time, even if only slightly, making this article a perpetual work in progress.

Work-Related Values:

  1. Commitment to Quality: For me, quality translates to producing code that is both comprehensible and adaptable. In essence, it's about creating clean code. However, quality encompasses more than just clarity—it extends to aspects like automated testing and robust architecture.

  2. Open-Mindedness: Another fundamental value of mine is being open to alternative ideas. Avoiding a dogmatic approach and believing in the existence of only one correct method is crucial. I strive to embrace diverse perspectives, seeking the optimal path to implementing my code. I acknowledge my human limitations and the impossibility of considering every minor edge case.

  3. Feedback-Oriented: Embracing this value can be challenging, as I sometimes neglect it. However, I recognize its importance. Having evidence that what I am building or doing is on the right track is invaluable. Mistakes are inevitable, but they become learning opportunities only when acknowledged. This value drives my efficiency, as I can pinpoint where to focus my efforts, rather than expending energy on fruitless endeavors.

Personal Values:

While the following values are applicable to my professional life, I choose to address them separately for clarity.

  1. Empathy: The ability to empathize with others aligns perfectly with the value of being feedback-driven. Ultimately, every aspect of our lives is interconnected with someone else's.

  2. Honesty: This value extends beyond honesty in interactions with others; it encompasses self-honesty as well. Being truthful with oneself is as vital as being truthful with others.

  3. Authenticity: Being true to myself is first of all why I even started this collection. So it only makes sense to mention it here. There were some situations where I made a decision that left me unsatisfied and I did not understand why. Only after reading some articles and books I understood that I went against what I value. Therefore, I believe having a list of values is a great tool to check against my authenticity.